7 Chakra


Chakras are the circular vortexes of energy that flow within the body. They are made up of seven energy centres, each controlling and influencing the health of a particular area of the body, as well as the colour, emotions and thoughts connected to it.

In a balanced person, these seven chakras provide the right amount of energy to stimulate the major organs for a healthy body and mind. 

These are the seven chakras.

  • Root Chakra
  • Sacral Chakra
  • Solar Plexus Chakra
  • Heart Chakra 
  • Throat Chakra 
  • Third Eye Chakra 
  • Crown Chakra

The Root chakra is the chakra of stability and security, grounding us and impacting our basic survival instincts. It affects the organs of elimination for example kidneys, rectum and bowel. When blocked, it affects the skeletal structures including the teeth, lower back and even varicose veins. There are a few ways to balance this chakra like using aromatherapy, yoga and meditation, or using crystals. 

Balance your Root Chakra with Garnet, Red Agate, Red Phantom Quartz, Red Tiger’s Eye or Rose Quartz.

The Sacral Chakra affects our ability to be joyful, compassionate and influences our desires and sexuality. It governs the reproductive system of the body and is particularly active during puberty, pregnancy and during female menopause when radical changes take place. This chakra also affects the urinary system, abdomen and hormones.

Balance your Sacral Chakra with Carnelian, Moonstone, Pink Botswana Agate or Sunstone.


The third chakra is the Solar Plexus Chakra. It corresponds to our personal abilities and influences our personal and professional success. It is the most sensitive as it is responsible for our feelings and the development of our personality. As the Solar Plexus can hold on to emotions for a long period of time, it is important to clear it on a regular basis. Otherwise, it will lead to stomach ulcers, diabetes and cancer of the digestive organs. 

Balance your Solar Plexus Chakra with Citrine, Gold Rutilated Quartz, Gold Tiger’s Eye or Yellow Tiger’s Eye.


The Heart Chakra is a healing chakra and correlates with unconditional love, self-love and relationships. It sits in the centre of the chest, slightly to the right of the heart. It governs circulation of the blood, the lungs and the body’s immune system. This chakra is also connected to the thymus gland. When blocked, it affects the bronchial, causing asthma and allergies as well as heart diseases. 

Balance your Heart Chakra with Green Aventurine, Green Angelite, Malachite, Rhodochrosite, Rhodonite, Rose Quartz or Watermelon Tourmaline.


The Throat Chakra denotes expression and guides our ability to listen, communicate and empathise with others. It is located in the neck and governs the oesophagus, the trachea, the larynx, our jaws and gums and is also connected to the thyroid gland. 

Balance your Throat Chakra with Blue Aventurine, Blue Lace Agate, Kyanite, Lapis Lazuli or Sodalite.


The Third Eye Chakra is the centre of our intuition, foresight and vision, allowing us to experience clear thought and wisdom. It is located between the eyes on the bridge of the nose. This chakra is connected directly to the rear lobes of the pituitary gland and the cerebellum. It balances the metabolism of the major organs and helps with our sight, intuition and our ability to see things clearly. It rules both the hemispheres of the brain and affects the ears, sight and the central nervous system.

Balance your Third Eye Chakra with Amethyst, Charoite, Labradorite or Purple Fluorite.


The last and seventh chakra is the Crown Chakra. It gives us access to higher states of consciousness and connects us to the infinite universe. It is located at the top of the head in the centre where the three main bones of the skull fuse at the anterior fontanelle to several centimetres above the head. It merges with higher Soul Star Chakra. It is a highly sensitive point and should be treated with care. It connects to the pineal gland and controls the brain function. If unbalanced, it causes depression, epilepsy, anxiety and neurological disorders. 

Balance your Crown Chakra with Clear Quartz, Super Seven or Tanzanite.